National InKart Championships 2019
Round Two Race Report (PDF Download)

Spring Championships Round 2

Qualifying 1
15 karts set out for the first qualifying session of the day in wet, slippery conditions. The Cadet and Junior drivers were soon to clock 1.14 laps with Riley Bettie being the only driver to enter 1.13 second lap, 0.8 seconds clear of overall second place and 1.6 seconds from in-class second place, Sam Halle-Hinxman. Lloyd Kay successfully took provisional third place in qualifying for the Junior class. As for the Cadets class, Rhys Safo lapped the fastest time with Shravan Shanmugavel taking close second by only 0.2 seconds, Max Fallon took third for Cadets.

Qualifying 2
From the first lap Ronnie Coburn showed his ability in the challenging conditions – immediately hitting the top of the time sheets. Jensen Pughe took second in the cadet group with Daniel Cebula in third. For the Juniors, Daniel Watson clocked the fastest time, with Adam Thomas in second and Jack Cooper in third.

B Final
The grid for the B Final would start with the Cadets getting away first with the top 3 drivers being Harrison Leach, Michael Dalton and Rupert Versallion. Versallion took a brave move into Turn 2 which pushed him wide and lost him 2 positions. By the end of lap 1, Versallion made his way up to 2nd position. The top 3 drivers drove away from the pack, with Dalton taking the lead at Turn 10 by a late braking move. The karts were back to back crossing the start/finish, split by just 0.5 seconds. Dalton clocked in an impressive lap time on lap 7, extending his lead to over 4 seconds with no sign of slowing his pace, he was the quickest driver by over 1 second. Leach and Barker were having a good battle on lap 12 fighting for 2nd position with Barker making a move on Turn 5 to gain 2nd position. Barker was able to extend the gap from Leach to 3 seconds. After an incident on the final lap, Dalton dropped down to second and Barker was able to take the win after a consistent drive. Leach took third.

1st – George Barker
2nd – Michael Dalton
3rd – Harrison Leach

The Junior race roared into life with Kian Gamiao on pole, Omari Alleyne and Ryan Hedge in third. Tom Ryan, who started in 5th position made his way up to 2nd by the end of the first lap and was on the tail end of Gamiao, chasing the leader. On lap 5, Ollie Bishop was up into 2nd position after 2 amazing overtaking manoeuvres within 2 laps, showcasing an impressive drive. After only a few more laps, Bishop was now in 1st place with an impressive lap time on lap 8 to now be over a second quicker than any other Junior driver. Bishop and Gamiao were having an intense battle near the end of the race, both matching lap times until the end. Bishop was able to hold off Gamiao until the chequered flag, only 0.5 seconds behind first place. Tom Ryan took third place. A notable drive from Hedge, who finished 4th, as he was the fastest Junior clocking in a 1.10 lap.

1st – Ollie Bishop
2nd – Kian Gamiao
3rd – Tom Ryan

A Final

After a successful qualifying, Coburn was on pole for the A Final, Safo in second and Pughe in third. As the lights went green, Coburn got an amazing start which allowed him to extend a lead to 2.1 seconds on the opening lap. Pughe got into second position at Turn 10 but lost control on the exit of Turn 1 which placed him at the back of the grid. Pughe started to make up positions as he approached a train of 4 karts and overtook all of them to make it up to 3rd position by lap 7, chasing down the top 2 drivers, Coburn and Cebula. Coburn, was flying and was clocking in lap times 1 seconds quicker than his fellow competitors, seemingly at ease with the conditions. Pughe caught up to 2nd position and was on the tail end of Cebula but unable to overtake until lap 11, he made the move around the outside of Turn 3. There was not enough time to get close to the winner, Coburn, who took a masterful win.

1st – Ronnie Coburn
2nd – Jenson Pughe
3rd – Daniel Cebula

Watson was sat on pole for the start of the A Final, Bettie in second and Halle-Hinxman in third. Watson stretched his lead to 2 seconds after only a few laps, with the top 3 positions not changing from grid order. Halle-Hinxman was on the charge for the lead on lap 9, shaving off 0.7 seconds a lap to Watson who was in first position. On the end of lap 12, Halle-Hinxman had approached the leader of the Juniors, they began to challenge for position. Watson, the leader of the Junior group, made an unfortunate mistake at Turn 6 which consequently led to him dropping back and Halle-Hinxman being able to move into 1st. Halle-Hinxman held onto his position till the end of the final and took the win for Juniors by 3 seconds to Watson and Bettie in third who successfully held off Cooper by only 1 second at the finishing line.

1st – Sam Halle-Hinxman
2nd – Daniel Watson
3rd – Riley Bettie