National InKart Championships 2019
Round Five Race Report (PDF Download)

Spring Championships Round 5

Qualifying 1
The first qualifying started with wet and damp conditions which challenged the drivers in their opening laps. Fernando Hartogs was the first driver to lead on the timing board with an impressive opening lap time but his fellow competitors were soon to challenge his time and just over half way into the 10 minutes timed session Riley Bettie topped the timing sheets 0.674 ahead of the rest of the drivers. With 2 minutes remaining, Rhys Safo clocked a 1:12:719 which placed him at the top. But in the last remaining seconds, Bettie took back the leading position, only 0.095 seconds ahead. Even though Safo lost the top place overall, he still was the fastest cadet out on track.

Qualifying 2
Daniel Watson quickly got up to speed and hit the top of the timing sheets. Ronnie Coburn, who topped the Cadet standings, was the only other driver to get within a second of Watson by the end of the session showing how tricky the track conditions were.

B Final
Daniel Cebula started in pole, with Luca Brooks in second and Jacob Holley in third. Jotham Ampofo-Anim got an incredible start and was placed in 4th position by Turn 2 and started to chase the karts in front. By the end of the first lap, Brooks and Cebula were challenging each other and had created a gap to the karts behind. As Brooks was following Cebula on the 5th lap he pushed too hard on the exit of Turn 2 and because of the track conditions it led him into a spin. Cebula continued to extend his lead and was the fastest driver out on track by over 1.5 seconds. He held on to take a staggering win, while Luca Brooks held onto second position and Cameron Bernard had an incredible final finishing in 3rd position after a calm and collected race.

1st – Daniel Cebula


2nd – Luca Brooks


3rd – Cameron Bernard


Kian Gamiao led the start of the B Final with Ryan Hedge and Kaiden Buckthorpe in second and third respectively. All karts got away from the grid successfully, later in the lap, Fernando Hartogs unfortunately span at Turn 10 which lost his position on track, he returned to the track and was determined to make up the time he lost. Half way through the race, there was a 5-kart battle between a mix of cadet and junior drivers with Tom Ryan successfully out in front after some good overtakes and battles. On lap 15, Kyle Carpenter received an advantage by contact penalty for an incident at National turn which meant he would be awarded a 5-place penalty after the race. The race finished with Gamiao in first, who held onto his position throughout the race, finishing 3rd overall and taking the fastest lap. Tom Ryan completed the final in second with Hedge in third after Carpenter had been demoted due to the penalty.

1st – Kian Gamiao


2nd – Tom Ryan


3rd – Ryan Hedge


A Final
Ronnie Coburn start in pole, with Sam Cole in second and Max Fallon in third. Coburn took a defensive line at Turn 1, defending his position from the start. Cole was immediately on the back of Coburn’s kart, putting pressure on him. In the opening lap, Barker took Max Fallon which promoted him to 3rd. On the second lap, Cole made an unfortunate mistake at Turn 6 which dropped him down to 3rd behind Barker, it didn’t take long for Cole to take back his position and was then on the chase back to Coburn in first. Shravan Shanmugavel was beginning to chase Barker in third and on lap 12 was right on the back of him finding a place to overtake. Cole was pushing hard to catch up to Coburn, however, Coburn reacted and was putting in lap times which were matching Cole which meant the gap didn’t close. Shravan Shanmugavel caught up to Barker but was unable to overtake him so Barker successfully took third. Coburn took the win by 5 seconds in front of Cole.

1st – Ronnie Coburn


2nd – Sam Cole


3rd – George Barker


Daniel Watson started on pole, with Adam Thomas in second and Kip Morgan in third. A battle for 3rd position commenced with 4 karts being only 1.6 seconds spread out from each other. 3 karts wide were entering corners where all drivers respected their competitors and showed a good battle for the spectators. On lap 7, Riley Bettie received a penalty board for an advantage by contact at Turn 4 which meant he would drop 5-places down at the end of the race. Watson remained in first position throughout the race, consistently increasing the gap to his fellow competitors. Sam Halle-Hinxman, who started in 5th made his way up to 2nd at the end of the race, matching the leaders lap times. Thomas took the chequered flag third in the Junior A Final.

1st – Daniel Watson


2nd – Sam Halle-Hinxman


3rd – Adam Thomas