Book online Call us
Week 18: Daytona Championships

Week 18: Daytona Championships

Week Eighteen

What a jam-packed week of championships! Both Milton Keynes and Sandown Park saw Inkart and Junior Sprint league, with Thursday Night League taking place at all 3 venues!

To view podium photos, follow our Twitter @daytonamsport 




Heat one of InKart at Sandown Park saw James Malcolm thread his way between his competitors to move from 8th to 1st in 3 laps, he went on to maintain a comfortable gap to the rest of the pack and win in the Junior category. In Cadets Josef Davies lead from flag to flag.

An incredibly close race in the Juniors heat two saw less than two hundredths of a second separating Charlie Bradburn and Nicolai Eidsgaard who finished 1st and 2nd respectively after a frenetic race-long battle. Joseph Davies was leading the cadets but spun at turn three and collected second place Fabian. Both drivers were able to work back up to the front of the pack and Fabian took a convincing victory after 10 laps of racing.

Stanley Williams drove brilliantly in heat three to move up the field to 3rd but was passed by Leo Edger at the line, the gap between them just 3 hundredths of a second. Ahead of them Jamie Warner drove a flag to flag victory, winning the race by 11 seconds from 2nd place James Malcolm. Adam Telford skilfully found the balance between lap time and defending his position to win the cadet category ahead of Felix Sheldon Heywood and Daniel Marutyak.

A penalty laden heat four didn’t trouble the close race between Max Miller and James Finlay for 1st in the Juniors which lasted the entire race distance. Fabian Gandhok won cadets, from the Telford twins despite receiving a 5 second post race penalty.

Daniel Marutyak lead the cadets from the green flag in the B final and showed great decision making when overtaking back markers to stay ahead of hard charging Jack Edger and Marcus Cooper. Ayaan Bagga drove faultlessly in juniors to win from Oliver Heathcote and Elijah Dusch, who had moved up from 7th on the grid.

Over in the A final, Polesitter James Malcolm got a good start, but second place Jamie Warner began to reel him in early in the race and was able to take the lead on lap 3. As Jamie stretched his lead traffic slowed James into the grips of a battling pack behind but Malcolm showed his experience to keep his head and 2nd place from a quick Charlie Bradburn. The A final for the cadets was a little more relaxed with Fabian Gandhok carefully managing the gap back to 2nd place Josef Davies. Felix Sheldon Heywood was able to take 3rd early in the race and keep Sarah Telford in 4th up until the Chequered Flag

Junior sprint league followed shortly after - another exciting race showcasing Jamie Warner securing another race win.


Thursday Night League

In the SODI category, Steve Hannon had a vey consistent race earning himself 3rd place overall. Reece Harris followed closely behind securing 4th place with a great performance. Yet, it was Connor Elmore that stole the show, overtaking leader Dan Giles on lap 15 to secure the race win.

Over in the DMAX category, Billy Reymond had an exceptional race with a solid lead from the start, finishing in front of Jamie Buchan by a 3.664s gap. Jamie went straight from 3rd to 2nd in lap one, finishing an overall 2nd after 20 minutes of great racing. Jack Luggar (3rd) and Robert Guymer (4th) both did exceptionally well and overtook slower drivers with ease. Mike Bennet went from 6th to 5th on lap 6 putting in some flying laps.



Milton Keynes welcomed back our returning Junior and Cadet drivers for Round One of Season 2 of our InKart championship. With the many returning drivers, we had an influx of fresh faces also joining the grid in the likes of Caelen Keith and Teddy Mullan just to name a couple.

The Heats phase of the morning was business as usual, as the drivers contested their starting position for their finals, with all 34 drivers competing head-to-head, for the best grid position possible.

The B-Final was filled with many of the new starters but still delivered exceptional standards of racing, as is taught in Daytona's Race School, of which the drivers have recently graduated. The Junior category developed to a crescendo which never quite came, but Samuel Aston, Jacob Aston and Archie Davies claimed a podium in their debut! Fantastic efforts and great consistency from the three! The Cadet race was much closer, with Gillen Townsend and Kimi Densham racing down to the wire being separated by only three tenths of a second at the line! It was Gillen who claimed victory, Kimi in second, and Tyler 'TJ' Rickard completed the podium.

The A-Final was by far the most competitive in recent months. Aidan Hammond had a spin on the out-lap to the grid which meant he started from the back, this did not stop the titanic battle of Callum Franklin, Charlie & Jacob Csepgrehi, and Aidan Hammond battling for the whole race, being covered by just four tenths of a second over the line! Aidan Hammond started the final lap in fourth, and finished first to Jacob Csepreghi who managed to clinch second place at the final corner as third place driver Callum Franklin took third after benefitting from a tiny mistake from Charlie Csepreghi at the penultimate corner of the race!

Junior Sprint Leauge

Milton Keynes also saw the first round of Junior Sprint League.  With rain overnight creating the tricky conditions of ever-drying track for the drivers to contend with it made for some great racing! A fantastic race from Luke Dunwell who took the victory after starting the race in third place! Jos Bardell, also a returning driver, managed to secure his second-place spot just 2 and a half seconds behind the leader. Four seconds back from Jos, Freddie Hill and Jack Beesley battled for third place right down to the wire! However, the pole sitter, Jack, couldn't hold on and narrowly lost our Freddie Hill, who completed the podium for Round 1!

Thursday Night League

Round 2 of Thursday Night League also took place this week at Milton Keynes. Over in the N35s there was a great race with lots of close battles and really tight racing. James King secured the lead and held on tight while Harry Asher and Lee Schnitzer battled it out for second place with Harry taking the spot. Over in the DMAX race, it was certainly and interesting one with 6 different race leaders. However it was Carl Stephens who triumphed overall.



Thursday Night League

In SODI category the racing was fantastic throughout, but Jude Beaven was the class of the field managing to claw his way from seventh to first in the sprint.

The DMAX race was filled with action up and down the field, but ultimately was dominated by Dillion Davies, who managed to pick up pole and a winning margin of over 10 seconds as he sprinted clear of the field.

Register to receive our special offers

Sign up here to get the latest news and special offers from Daytona Motorsport delivered straight to your inbox.

Sign me up for special offers at